Review- Roses of May (The Collector #2)

Roses of May (The Collector #2)
By: Dot Hutchinson
Release Date: May 23rd, 2017
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Series: The Collector

Book two in this dark and twisted series wasn’t quite what I expected. When I learned there were more books in the series I thought we’d get to see more about the victims from book one as they move through their court case. Instead, we are sticking with agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez which, I’m not complaining about. We learn about another young woman, Priya Sravasti and the challenges she and her mother are facing years after the murder of her sister.

Priya’s sister Chavi was found murdered in a church and ever since then Priya and her mother have been moving regularly, trying to outrun the damage done and the killer that was never caught. When it seems like the killer is coming to claim Priya as well it’s up to our favorite agents to try and catch the madman and keep Priya safe.

We do still see some of the Butterflies and we learn about how they’re all adjusting, or not adjusting, to life outside of the Garden. We see how Eddison has basically adopted Priya as his younger sister (after the long ago disappearance of his own sister it’s equal parts touching and equal parts worrying as Eddison is much more heart than logic on this case.)

We see the after effects of a family left without a loved one, the terrible challenges they face and the damage done when there aren’t enough answers. This book was amazing and equally heartbreaking as the first in the series.

Dot Hutchinson’s writing style, plot twists and character growth is fantastic. She also finds ways to leave encouragement in the strangest places and words of wisdom about how people cope with things which I found comforting in the middle of all the chaos.

“We shouldn’t have to fix ourselves if we don’t want to. We shouldn’t have to be strong or brave or hopeful or any such bullshit. Mum has always emphatically stated that it’s okay to not be okay. We don’t owe that to anyone else.”

If you enjoyed the first book in the series, give book two a try. If you haven’t read The Butterfly Garden yet, start there. It’s a tough read and you have to have the stomach for it but honestly, this is not a series you should dare skip around on. Read in order, deal with the darkness and hold on tight for the roller coaster of emotions.

About author

Brittney Soban

Brittney is a writer, reader and general lover of all things that end up printed on a page. With a few published poems and a lot of unpublished stories and novels she spends her days doing a nine to five job while wishing she was home working on the worlds she loves to create. As “punishment”, her and her brothers were banned from watching television for a week, leading to Brittney deciding that the free books at the library were better than TV and, in a very Matilda fashion, she took home loads of books every day and has never looked back. A reader of all types of literature, she will read practically anything put in front of her as long as something within it, no matter how small, sparks her interest. Give her high fantasy, science fiction, mystery, it doesn’t matter, but her love does lie within the fantasy and YA genres. A series junkie on top of everything else, she picks and chooses when to begin a series based on how many standalone books also await her attention in her to be read pile. Once she starts a series she will read every installment available back to back until she finishes a series or is forced to wait for the next publication. Called a book dragon by her boyfriend, the term is fitting as she owns more books than anything else and is quite sure her obituary will state she died under an avalanche of books. She truly wouldn’t have it any other way.

All posts

Post a comment