Review- Driftwood

By: Marie Brennan
Release Date: August 14th, 2020
Publisher: Tachyon Publications

I don’t know what I expected when I saw this lovely ARC on NetGalley. The concept was interesting and I liked the idea behind it but I’m not sure I was ready for the purely amazing read this book was.

The world of Driftwood is a strange place — it is where worlds come to die and as entire worlds are shrunk down in size and people are disappearing left and right everything is slowly coming to an end. Think of Driftwood as a story of a post-apocalyptic world…but with some of the worlds still in the middle of their own end. If you’re looking for an amazing fantasy read, be on the lookout for Driftwood which comes out August 14th, 2020. If you want to know more about the story and my reaction, read on but please be aware there may be tiny spoilers.

Review – Under Pressure (Lucas Page #2)

Under Pressure (Lucas Page #2)
By: Robert Pobi
Release Date: August 4th, 2020
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Series: Lucas Page

Normally when I apply for ARC copies I try to avoid books that are not the first book in a series because I don’t want to miss anything in regards to context in a series. However, when I read the synopsis of Under Pressure I couldn’t resist putting in for the ARC.

Review- Peace Talks (The Dresden Files #16)

Peace Talks (The Dresden Files #16)
By: Jim Butcher
Release Date: July 14th, 2020
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Series: The Dresden Files

It has been a long time coming for book number sixteen in the Dresden Files. Book fifteen, Skin Game, came out in 2014. Yes, 2014 so six years ago now. I will say I am luckier than most fans in that I came into my Dresden files obsession in the last few years so I read Skin Game in 2017. Still, it’s been three years and I admit I had to go back and re-read the last couple books to remember where we’d left off.

Thank you to Penguin Random House and Berkley for the ARC. It was the highlight of my quarantine.

As we are sixteen books in this series if you haven’t read the others stop reading the review now, go back and start with book one Storm Front. This is not a series to read out of order. If you’ve read all the other books and want to know what I think about Peace Talks please read on.

Review- Roses of May (The Collector #2)

Roses of May (The Collector #2)
By: Dot Hutchinson
Release Date: May 23rd, 2017
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Series: The Collector

Book two in this dark and twisted series wasn’t quite what I expected. When I learned there were more books in the series I thought we’d get to see more about the victims from book one as they move through their court case. Instead, we are sticking with agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez which, I’m not complaining about. We learn about another young woman, Priya Sravasti and the challenges she and her mother are facing years after the murder of her sister.

#UltimateBlogTour – Knightmare Arcanist (Frith Chronicles #1) by Shami Stovall

Knightmare Arcanist
By: Shami Stovall
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Publisher: Capital Station Books
Series: Frith Chronicles #1
Award: B.R.A.G. Medallion for Fantasy; New Apple Literary Award for Fantasy; Coffee Pot Book Club's Pick for 2020 Reading
Received From: Publisher
(All reviews are our own, honest opinions.)

Knightmare Arcanist by Shami Stovall is the first book in the young adult book series the Frith Chronicles. Shami is the author of two series, including the Frith Chronicles and The Sorcerers of Verdun.

Review- The Butterfly Garden (The Collector #1)

The Butterfly Garden (The Collector #1)
By: Dot Hutchinson
Release Date: June 1st, 2016
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Series: The Collector
Award: Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Horror (2016)

I know what you’re all thinking-Another thriller? Yes, of course. Why? I couldn’t resist the synopsis or the draw of the series.

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

Holy crap. And yes, there should be a GIGANTIC trigger warning across this book, if you haven’t already caught on to that by way of the synopsis.

I admit it was a bit of a tough read, given the subject matter but the mystery behind the Gardner, the women in the garden and the survivor Maya kept me turning the pages quickly.

The story was a bit weird at times, given that the information about the Garden was told in flashbacks and that the story was broken up by Maya’s interrogation. I will not say this book was perfect and I know there were parts that were difficult to believe but at the same time I was so deep in the story that I couldn’t find my way out. When I finished book one I bought the rest of the books in the series and dove right in. Probably not the best sign of mental stability to read about crime as much as I do, but oh well!

If you like crime, thrillers and mysteries and can stomach some harsh details you will enjoy this book and series.

Review – The Patient

The Patient
By: Jasper DeWitt
Release Date: July 7th, 2020
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

When I saw this book on the NetGalley website I was intrigued. Normally I reserve my horror reads for the fall time, when the theme seems to fit the weather. Still, a chance at an advanced reader copy for such an interesting story was something I couldn’t resist so I put the request in and was approved. I waited for a day that I felt ready to jump into the horror genre and here we are, talking about a book that took me on a wild ride and that surprised me.

Review – The Moe Manifesto: An Insider’s Look at the Worlds of Manga, Anime, and Gaming by Patrick W. Galbraith

The Moe Manifesto The Moe Manifesto: An Insider’s Look at the Worlds of Manga, Anime, and Gaming
By: Patrick W. Galbraith
Release Date: June 24, 2014
Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

If a look at moe and anime culture is something you’re interested in, The Moe Manifesto: An Insider’s Look at the Worlds of Manga, Anime, and Gaming by Patrick W. Galbraith is book you’ll want to flip through. Galbraith holds a PhD in Information Studies while pursuing a second PhD in Cultural Anthropology. Several other anime and manga nonfiction books have been authored by him as well.

Review- The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)

The Everlasting Rose (The Belles #2)
By: Dhonielle Clayton
Release Date: March 5th, 2019
Publisher: Freeform
Series: The Belles

When we return to the world of Orléans we find that our main character Camellia is still in the fight for saving the world and stopping one rogue tyrant of a princess while also trying to right the wrongs done to so many people, including generations of Belles.