Review – Secrets Never Die (Morgan Dane #5)

Secrets Never Die (Morgan Dane #5)
By: Melinda Leigh
Release Date: March 19th, 2019
Publisher: Montlake Romance
Series: Morgan Dane

Here we are with book number five in the series and I really couldn’t be more pleased to say that I enjoyed this book just as I have every other book so far. Morgan, Lance and Sharp make an incredible team and I adore their dedication to finding the truth, to their clients and to each other.

This book we learn more about Lance and see how he connects to those he cares about, not only with how he handles a gross variety of the flu but also how he is connected to the boys on the hockey team he coaches.

When the phone rings Lance is informed that one of his players, Evan Meade, is missing and his new stepfather, a retired deputy sheriff, is found shot dead in his own home. With tensions high, a troubled past and now missing everyone believes Evan may be to blame for the death but Lance and Evan’s mother Tina agree that he must be innocent, no matter what the evidence looks like.

As we learn more about Lance and his connection to the boys on his team we also get to see a new character, Olivia Cruz, come in and turn Sharp’s world upside down. Olivia is a reporter and her determination and take no prisoners attitude, while frustrating to Sharp, also draws him to her even if he won’t admit it. I loved seeing Sharp out of his element with someone who can keep up with him as well as attract him with her brilliance just as much as her beauty. Honestly, I’m cheering for this pairing from the start.

As the twists and turns in this story take pace I found myself flipping pages quickly and wanting answers now because I had to know the truth and I had to be sure all of my favorite characters were okay. There is one more book after this in the series and while part of me hopes we aren’t coming to the end I could see how Melinda Leigh is tying things up and getting ready to let the characters live on in our memories. I’m both excited to see a possible ending and sad to see it coming.

About author

Brittney Soban

Brittney is a writer, reader and general lover of all things that end up printed on a page. With a few published poems and a lot of unpublished stories and novels she spends her days doing a nine to five job while wishing she was home working on the worlds she loves to create. As “punishment”, her and her brothers were banned from watching television for a week, leading to Brittney deciding that the free books at the library were better than TV and, in a very Matilda fashion, she took home loads of books every day and has never looked back. A reader of all types of literature, she will read practically anything put in front of her as long as something within it, no matter how small, sparks her interest. Give her high fantasy, science fiction, mystery, it doesn’t matter, but her love does lie within the fantasy and YA genres. A series junkie on top of everything else, she picks and chooses when to begin a series based on how many standalone books also await her attention in her to be read pile. Once she starts a series she will read every installment available back to back until she finishes a series or is forced to wait for the next publication. Called a book dragon by her boyfriend, the term is fitting as she owns more books than anything else and is quite sure her obituary will state she died under an avalanche of books. She truly wouldn’t have it any other way.

All posts

Post a comment